Choosing Local DB Storage for Beginning IOS using Object C

Id like to know what db/storage/persistence is used now in the industry.

What would be a good db to start since I am new in IOS development.

I have been an Android Developer for a long time so I ve been accustomed with SQLite.

I have been reading about Core Data, Realm, SQLite as possible start.

Any insights and recommendations?

I suggest go with Core Data since you are new in iOS Development.

As a developer new in iOS, I suggest stick to the core / native approaches first before exploring 3rd party solutions.

@duram

Thank you for your insight.

Trying Core Data earlier today but it seemed not to be too beginner friendly, I think.

I started a project using a tutorial i followed in apple but apparently Core Data was not initially set up, so I went to stack overflow and now following how to add Core Data to the project and im a bit lost in it.

This is the link im following

@MacadamiaPH

That link’s a little out of date (but still works). You can use this tutorial if you’re planning on targeting iOS 10. It’s a lot easier to set-up using NSPersistentContainer:

Core Data uses SQLite as its persistent store by default. It’s also built-in to the iOS SDK so most projects use it.

If you don’t mind having an external dependency and managing it (via cocoapods), I think Realm and Firebase are great with a simpler API.

@mark_jimenez

Thank you for your feedback.

Im actually trying Core Data, and the link you mentioned would work if I am working from scratch.
Unfortunately, I want to continue what I’ve started and i am trying to add Core Data to an existing project and I am stuck because I still lack the mastery to fully comprehend all the instruction on the link i gave.

Hi, if you are starting a new project with Core Data, I encourage you to use an existing wrapper library to help you avoid common pitfalls.
Personally I would recommend CoreStore (https://github.com/JohnEstropia/CoreStore)